He who seeketh, findeth

August 28, 2007

Pay it forward

Filed under: Meditation,Reason for Breathing,Thanksgiving — Steve (Chessiq) @ 11:06 pm

pay-it-forward-pic.jpgI remember watching the movie, Pay It Forward, a couple of years ago. The only thing I remember about it, is the “random acts of kindness” that people extend to each other. You can read more about the move by clicking the link above.

What brought back the memories of that movie is a couple of kind acts that were extended to a dear friend of mine by complete “strangers”. These good Samaritans made an otherwise horrible experience, bearable and memorable. I wrote about the blessing of kindness a couple of days ago. It appears the blessings continue, and there is a reason to celebrate humanity.

How do you “repay” people for acts of kindness that they have given (to you or your loved ones)? In my opinion, there is no repayment. There acts of kindness indebt you to them forever, for you would not be the same person had they not intervened. Thus it behooves you to “Pay It Forward”. How often and how much? That depends on a couple of things. First, how much did your life improve because of the grace you received? Second, how much does the other person need for his or her life to significantly improve? Last, but not least, why are you doing it? (In answering the last question, you may want to think back and answer the question: why did that good Samaritan dress my wounds on that night?)

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you for the reminder about this wonderful movie/concept! I forgot how much it inspired me when I first saw it. Now, I’m motivated to again pass kindness forward instead of back. One thing I love up here in San Francisco is the tradition of “bridge angels”. When you pass over the Golden Gate, every once in a while pay for the person behind you too. The first time it happened to me, I was driving a u-haul and the person in front had paid for me. The toll worker explained to me that you’re supposed to pay it forward and do it for someone the next time you go over. It doesn’t happen as much now with the electronic pass and all, but it was a great tradition of paying it forward.

    Comment by Chrissy — August 29, 2007 @ 10:11 pm | Reply

  2. Chrissy, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. What used to happen in San Francisco was great. I can imagine how I would feel if I was wondering what I would have for lunch… and then I find out that somebody has paid for my toll! That leaves me with some money for a drink or whatever. Pretty cool. Now you have made me go back to the times when I had a chance to pay for somebody behind me, but I didn’t grab the chance. I will be on the look out.
    One additional idea from your comment… I guess simplicity and efficiency of the financial market has brought about a social cost. Money is now on the card or electronic pass (sensor), and people have no way of sharing/helping each other. 😉

    Comment by Steve (Chessiq) — August 30, 2007 @ 7:24 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.