He who seeketh, findeth

November 12, 2010

Freedom from attachment

Filed under: Happiness,Meditation,Thoughts and Reflections — Steve (Chessiq) @ 6:49 pm

May I live without attachments.
Enjoy the things that I have but be ready to let them go.
Be able to lose what I have without getting distraught at the loss.
Care for what I have but not be attached.
Love the people in my life, my family and friends, but not be unhappy when they are not around.
Care for them but not be attached.
Empathize but not be swept in emotion.
Enjoy the company of my friends and family, but continue to be happy in their absence.
Be happy making money, but be just as happy when it is all gone, spent or not spent.
Be glad that I have a job, but be free to walk away if I need to, or I am let go.
Be free to speak the truth without worrying about the consequences.
Choose who I associate with.
Choose how I spend my time.
Subdue emotion to the intellect, but not lose my heart.
Enjoy beautiful moments but not be a slave to their memories or fantasies.
Keep my word but never make promises.
Work to be only better than my old self, but help those who may need my help to be better than their old selves.
Appreciate each day I am alive, but reconcile myself to the fact that some day, I will die.

Is this the key to happiness? Is this inconsistent? Is this possible? Is detachment absolute or relative?

Inspired by the writings of Anthony De Mello…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

