He who seeketh, findeth

August 19, 2009

CPA Exam REG prep continues… 8/19/09

Filed under: CPA,Goals,REG — Steve (Chessiq) @ 11:35 pm

Got home around 12:30am last night or this morning because I left (this conference room) around 12:00am. I decided to study some more when I got home because my stomach was killing me. I had a banana on the way out, and for the past couple of months, my stomach has not been taking bananas well. Anyway, I decided on Module 31, Property.

According to my spreadsheet, this is supposed to have 43 MCQs, yet it has 53 in the Wiley Testprep CD/database – which is good; the more the better. I only managed to get through 10 questions, and I had to sleep because the stomachache worsened, and I was also tired. My reward for studying tonight is reading this post: http://www.personalfinanceplaybook.com/2009/08/only-a-business-owner-can-sell-like-a-business-owner/

 12:45am – 1:22am Property (Module 31) MCQs 01-10

2:24pm – 3:24pm Property (Module 31) MCQs 11-31 (while having lunch)

6:50pm – 7:44pm Property (Module 31) MCQs 31-53. Now I know about Mortgagor and Mortgagee’s rights, deeds (execution, recording, types), Property types, and rights. My favorite has been various State laws regarding recording deeds, Notice, Race, and Notice-Race! I noticed that I was taking almost 4 minutes a question (average) but it is because I was reading all the text links on the questions regardless of whether I got the question right or wrong. I am studying, not just test-taking. If I found the information useful or reviewable, I was printing it, PDF, and saving the file to folder on my desktop. At the end, I combined the pages into one file. Here I have 50 pages to review! There are some pages that have only 5-10 lines, so it is not too much.

 Okay, dinner break! I went a Japanese Restaurant. That’s all the info I can give out right now. I got Chicken Teriyaki, Vegetables & Steamed Rice – YUM! It is kind of nice to shake off the hunger and sleepiness with some “not-home-made-food”. I talked a little bit with the guy who was making my food, Pablo, and he mentioned that a few weeks ago, I used to go there (to the Japanese restaurant) frequently, but I now, it is “long time no see”! I tried to explain that I was busy with work and school, and I am studying during lunch… but I am not sure he understood since his English is not as good as his Spanish. It is people like that that make me want to learn Spanish… so that we can converse. It was kind of nice to know that he remembered me going there frequently, months ago. Anyway, let me eat and get back to studying. May be another 10 minutes? Start at 8:30pm? Deal!

Well, I am one minute over, because I was reading Todd’s interview of Michael Gerber, and I was consumed! I have stopped about one third of the way in. It is really nice. So far, I feel that sometimes you see successful people and you “envy” them, and then you hear them talk… to hear how they got where they are, and you are just inspired to be better at what you do, to some day be able to tell a similar story, and hopefully, somebody will become inspired by your story,… sort of PAY IT FORWARD.

Now, study!

I forgot to mention that I like classical music, so the past couple of days I have been listening to ClassicalMusicAmerica on iTunes, and it is one of the best classical music radio stations I have ever listened to. When I become a CPA, I will probably send them some sponsorship/thank you money!

 When I want to smile or laugh, I sometimes go to this awesome site: http://1000awesomethings.com/

 8:49pm – 10:56pm, done with Module 24: Sales. Now I know remedies available to buyers and sellers, product liability, risk of loss and title, how the UCC statute of frauds is different from the “regular” or “general” statute of statute of frauds. This reminds me of the first time I read business law, I think it was 11 or 12 years ago at PAEC. I haven’t touched anything similar to it since. I thought accounting was way to go then, and then I changed my mind, and now I am back with it, but I don’t know for how long. I am not sure if I want to be an accountant for life. My goal is to be certified, become really good at it, (which I think I am getting there in the real world) and then become a consultant (IT & Accounting). After doing that for a couple of years, I would love to play chess professionally. Why am I saying all this? I don’t know. I just thought I should put it out there.

I am going to drive home. I think I will make it home by 11:45pm. I will probably put in another hour or so and then hit the bed. I think I am doing okay on my studying. The items highlighted green are ones that I have done in Wiley 14.0 this week. The ones highlighted turquoise are the ones that I did a couple of weeks ago in Gleim TestPrep CD. .The ones that are unhighlighted or highlighted red are the ones that are not done. [Red because they are too big and too important!] I will get there!

chessiq's study progress 08.19.09

It is a wonderful life!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

