He who seeketh, findeth

July 28, 2009

CPA Exam REG preparation (20 days to go)

Filed under: CPA,REG — Steve (Chessiq) @ 10:58 pm

I am a little behind on my studying and my blogging. Both are important to me. The studying is what will make me pass the exam. The blogging is what will keep me motivated as I track my progress.

Where am I? What has happened since the last time I wrote something here?

Well, I kept up the exercising in the morning, until last Saturday, when I worked out at night and I didn’t on Sunday, and yesterday and today! Was exercising the only thing that stopped? No, not really. I kept studying at lunch… the notes from cpacfa(?) and I think I have kept that up. I didn’t do it today because I went to see my Dentist again. I think he did crappy work with a temporary crown… but I will not get into it now.

I am in chapter 6 of the cpacfa notes, so by the end of this week, I will be going over those one more time. I think they are good for overview and review – just to tell you where you are headed and then later to see where you have been.

I finished the 113 question on the testprep CD (Ethics) and then started on … I don’t remember – I think it is CPAs and the law – there are all these things about when you can be sued for negligence, or gross negligence… I think there is a case called Ultramares v Touche – and various defenses to various suits. Pretty interesting. I think I did about 20-30 MCQ and there are probably 140MCQs in this unit. I have started taking notes as I do the MCQs.

What else did I do? I went to the library on Saturday (after running some errands) – and I put in a couple of hours. That’s how the first study unit was finished and the second started.

I did a lot of non-school things – and I can honestly say I don’t regret spending my time that way – well, 90% okay with it. I bought groceries, baby clothes for a friend’s kid, cooked, read lots of blogs and got inspired along the way (here are the two that I really liked: Path to the CFA and Early Retirement Extreme), I went to the Dentist – Friday and today, I visited some friends, I spoke with a few friends, I made a new friend – well, another blogger!, but he is good guy, a lawyer, and I am inspired by his love for his wife, among many other things.  So, I am not beating myself too much.

Changes going forward:

I have cut a few days from the >>> (“XX days to go”) to 20 and we will be counting down from there. My reasoning is that from now on, I want to be doing a study unit a day. Whether it is fully done or not, I will move on to the next one. When all the study units have been attempted or studied or reviewed at least once, I will then spend the last week or so before the exam, patching up whatever is remaining. This also will force me to make sure that I do the best I can each day on a particular study unit.

I have started working til 6pm – and I am shooting to work no later than 7pm. I hope this continues even though month end is here. No excuses, already!

This is 10:55pm. I had a choice between sleeping, studying, and blogging the past couple of minutes (or hour), but I figured, I have been putting off documenting my progress for a couple of days, and if I don’t do it until it is all nice and I am caught with my studying, I may not do it. Bite the bullet, and then do your best going forward.

I will stop here and see what I do before I sleep.

It is a wonderful life.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

