He who seeketh, findeth

June 28, 2009

Saving money on gas bills with a fan

Filed under: Money — Steve (Chessiq) @ 11:59 pm

Holmes Oscillating Tower FanYesterday (6/27/09) I bought a fan at Target so that I can save on the electric bills. I had researched earlier in the week how much energy fans use compared to air conditioners. I have been using an air conditioner for most of the past month and my electric bill has been around $60 (I think the highest was the latest I received a couple of days ago, and it was $57). I knew that the bill for June (to be received in July) will be much higher as June has been pretty hot. Last summer my bills were between $225-275 a month! That is a lot of money to me and I don’t intend to go through that again. Of course, there were other factors that contributed to the high bills, but I will not get into them. This summer will be an experiment to see if my thinking is correct. I intend to put the A/C at around 80 or 85 degrees Fahrenheit [80°F-85°F] which is pretty high, and then turn on the fan. I tricked my body earlier in the afternoon by not turning on the A/C and I got pretty warm (hot ;-)) as the temperature in the apartment got to around 92°F! Then I turned on the A/C at 85°F and it almost felt like I had jumped in the pool. No more shenanigans like that. I don’t think I will get the A/C setting below 80°F unless I have visitors or something else is going on.

I have also decided to start spending more time in the bedroom since the A/C is in the bedroom, that way I can close all other doors and there will be no need to cool off the rest of the apartment. The fan will thus remain in the bedroom… no need to move it from the bedroom to the living room and back like I did yesterday!

I am keeping myself pretty hydrated, not because I am warm, but it is just good practice. That’s it about the fan… I will update the post in the future with my monthly bills and see if I will recoup the $45 that I invested in the Holmes Oscillating Tower Fan.

“Wealth is in restraint, not indulgence.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

