He who seeketh, findeth

June 20, 2009

Passed FAR

Filed under: CPA,FAR — Steve (Chessiq) @ 1:19 pm

I found out about an hour ago that I passed the Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR) section of the CPA exams. I am happy! I was convinced I had barely failed (or with some luck, barely passed). So, it was good to see the 84, (you need 75 to pass). I fell on my knees and said “thank you!”, “thank you, God!”, over and over again. I raised my hands up high, and I lowered my head… in praise and thankfulness. I have never been so excited and happy for anything. I am rarely excitable, so this was a totally different side of me. I do not think that when I pass all the remaining exams, I will be as excited as I was today.

FAR was my first exam, and the preparation for it was a little chaotic as I documented in the earlier postings. I was so tired and stressed out about the FAR exam (during the preparation for it), I stopped studying a couple of weeks before the exam, and then started again a couple of days before the exam. The day before the exam, I think I studied for over 16 hours. I even studied for about an hour in my car just before going into the exam. The other pressure was coming from the fact that even if you pass the other three sections and you fail FAR, it seems like you are failing the one subject that you are meant to know or be good at. So, I am so happy that I will not have to worry about that. Lastly, the volume of material for FAR is just too much, and I pray to God that I will pass the next two exams, and not have to worry about re-studying for FAR!

Praise be to God in highest and peace to His people. Amen!

Thanks to everyone who encouraged, supported, inspired, and prayed for me during the first half of this challenge. I will definitely need you all again during the remaining half of this marathon.

Two down, two to go.

I think I will start studying for the Audit and Attestation exam tonight.

It is a wonderful life.

2 Comments »

  1. was FARE the exam you were just guessing questions on in one of the simulations?

    I just took FARE today.. MC testlets went medium, hard, medium I felt like…

    the communications weren’t bad.. but the simulations were really hard…one I had to guess numbers just to get it to balance!

    congrats on your hard work though.

    Comment by chris — July 16, 2009 @ 10:02 pm | Reply

    • Chris,
      Sorry for the delay in responding to your question… I was preparing for Auditing and I didn’t come to check the blog.
      I don’t think I guessed much in the simuls for FAR. I guessed quite a few of the MCQs. I was convinced I had barely failed FAR, but I did okay. From my experience with AUD today, it appears not all simulations are created equal, so your answer options may be totally different from the next guy’s.
      As much as I hate to say this, (because it would not comfort me!), guessing is not all bad. Sometimes you are not sure… you have an idea… and your gut-feeling leads you to the right path. What I hate is when I guess and I have no idea whatsoever, which is what happened today when I took AUD.

      Comment by Steve (Chessiq) — July 20, 2009 @ 10:17 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

