He who seeketh, findeth

August 25, 2007

Determination to keep traveling

Filed under: Goals,Reason for Breathing,Thoughts and Reflections — Steve (Chessiq) @ 10:27 am

When I was younger, I used to read Moni Magazine. In it, there was an article by an Anglican Priest(?) and it was titled food for thought. It was interesting. I remember at one time he had written his “profile”. He had worked all sorts of jobs, may be 15 or more. I never thought about it until I saw several excellent blogs and the authors mentioned that they were engaged in a field totally different from the what they are blogging about. One was a Doctoral Student in something like psychology, but he has learnt a lot of technical stuff about blogging and that’s what he blogs about. I am not sure whether he is changing careers or how old he is or…

I was talking to a friend a few days ago and she mentioned that somebody she knew was licensed to fly commercial planes, even though she is a success in a totally different field, and she is pretty young. This led to a discussion of opportunities (or access to experiences and resources). I think that, though important, it is just one of the pieces of the puzzle. How do these people do it?

I think one of the major reasons is a determination, consciously or unconsciously, to keep traveling, to never arrive, to learn as much as they can (about whatever interests them). In other cases, it may be circumstances. For example, I learned to drive a semi-(truck), not because I wanted to, but because I had to. It was a nice challenging experience. I didn’t make a career out of it, and hopefully, I will not use it again! It’s not for me. But out of it, I learnt a lot of things. How to prepare for a trip, the challenges that class A drivers face when traffic is bad, or when they are driving while they are extremely tired and sleepy, the space they need for everything: parking, turning, or braking to stop. I digressed.

So, if some day, you want to be able to say “I can do that” to lots of things. You just have to learn the next thing that you have always wanted to do, and once you accomplish that, move on to the next thing. It can be as easy as touch-typing, to something a little more involving as writing programs. That’s my next project: learn html, css, etc. Some day, I will be able to tell my grand kids, “I can drive a semi, I can teach accounting, I can teach information systems, I can program, I can build websites, I can swim, I can touch-type, I can make you millionaires, etc etc…. but I could not do most of that stuff when I was 25!”

I just have to trod on!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

