He who seeketh, findeth

August 12, 2007

My wedding plans, (to be continued)

Filed under: Reason for Breathing,Thoughts and Reflections — Steve (Chessiq) @ 12:57 am

Who will I marry?
When I was young, like 5 to 7 years old, I thought I was going to marry … a white girl. For some reason, I thought it was going to be cool, just to do something different. Later on, when I learned about racism, I thought it was the worst thing to do! Now, I don’t care, because I know that love will make me marry the right person. Black, White, Korean, Chinese, whatever. If we get along fine, and we have fun together, and we have the same values, and… ! You know, it feels right. I will do it with my soul mate.

Next… the wedding itself:
I have never been a big fan of big weddings. I have never been a big fun of spending so much for one day. There was a time when I felt that it was cool to have a big expensive wedding, but most of my reasons had to do with showing off. My true self wants a small private wedding, with closest friends and family. I would prefer something simple. Like go to Church, get married/blessed, get some pictures taken, dance with my bride in private, wear something casual/comfortable, barbecue and talk with people, play games or whatever. I would want it to happen at somebody’s house. May be our new house. Clean up the next day, go somewhere fun for honey moon. Come back, and live life happily ever after as we did before the wedding!

I have found a blog – Saving for a wedding, it looks very interesting. It appears the couple are trying to raise/save $5,000 for their wedding. I am not sure if that will be the total expense for the wedding or not. I will need to read some more. It is very interesting. There are all sorts of things/advice that may help anybody who is about to get married. I will be reading it every day for the next couple of months.

Oh, I forgot about the engagement. Hmmn! I have had ideas, plans, etc on how I would propose. Of course, I would like it to be fun, nice, and memorable for both of us. Of course, there are issues that I/we would need to address. Do we feel like we belong together? Where do we stand on this and that issue? I guess compatibility issues that may not have been addressed prior to the engagement. Then there are issues of how much you want to spend on the engagement. How much should the ring cost? What else should happen in addition to the proposal? How long are we going to wait before we get married (i.e. time between getting engaged and getting married). Aw! Nice! I will not write my thoughts about all that at this time.

Married life:

The Kids:
I would like to have my own kids. I would like to have two or three kids. For now, I have names for two of them, but a third name wouldn’t be too hard to pick. Why do I want two or three kids? One kid is one too little. Kids need siblings. That’s all. More than three seem too many to be able to provide for them properly. We are looking at things like attention/love/care, to material things, to education, to savings for whatever – their first house, their wedding, etc. Oh, yes, I would like to chip in when they leave to start their own lives.

How am I going to raise them? Pretty much expose them to as many experiences as possible. Get them ready for life. Try to teach them so that they avoid the mistakes I made. Hopefully, we will share similar values and beliefs. That’s it in a nutshell. Are these wedding plans? Not sure, but that’s what I think about when I think about my future – and getting married (which is started by the wedding), seems like a big undertaking – something that will occupy me for the rest of my life. I might as well, think it through all the way!

I guess this is not a bad stopping point. It will be continued in due time ;-)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

