He who seeketh, findeth

August 12, 2007

Letters to my unborn kids.

Filed under: Reason for Breathing,Thoughts and Reflections — Steve (Chessiq) @ 12:41 am

I was listening to the radio and a lady called DELILAH to request a song for her two sons, aged 14 and 19, who were being nice young men. Their dad had passed away in an accident. The boys were not giving her any problems and they were doing chores like mowing the lawn and cleaning the house. My impression was that the dad had passed away not too long ago. I also assumed that he was a responsible dad. Probably he had instilled in the children the need to be good boys/men; to not consider themselves kids and wait for their mom or dad to do everything thing for them. I also assumed whenever he did some things around the house, he would involve the kids, such that they picked up on a lot of things without actually being told to do this job or that chore specifically. I know these are too many assumptions. I am not saying the mom did not train the kids to live the right way. It could be that the dad worked very hard and was not home much and it was up to the mom to train the kids. Who knows?
This made me think about how I want my kids to be when they grow up. I have always known that they will make their own choices and that I cannot control everything. However, I can tell them things and hopefully they will listen. What if I pass away before they are old enough to be influenced by my example? Well, I guess I can write down my thoughts even before they come into existence. (I do not have kids yet, but I am hopeful that I will have kids some day.) I have heard that people who are adopted go looking for their parents so that they can see who their parents were like. May be their parents can give them advice on how best to live life. I have heard of people whose parents died while they were young wishing their parents were there so they could talk to them. What if I am one of those parents who die “before my time” and I have not fully elaborated on how I look at life, how I think, what I expect of my kids, and so on and so forth. Would this be similar to leaving my kids without a college fund, life insurance, and other life necessities?
With this thought in mind, I have decided to start writing notes, letters, pieces of advice, thoughts and reflections, for my kids. Hopefully, they will not need to read my writing because I will be there to talk to them. However, if I am not there, they will see my thoughts. They will have a one way “conversation” with me. They will get what they think is applicable and necessary and leave out what they don’t want. Hopefully, they will be able to make the best choices in life, with my help.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

