He who seeketh, findeth

August 12, 2007

How To Do Things That Suck!

Filed under: Reason for Breathing,Thoughts and Reflections — Steve (Chessiq) @ 12:29 am

I have stomach problems. I will find out in a couple of weeks whether I have an ulcer or irritable colon or acid reflux, or… nothing at all. The finding out part includes taking some samples to the lab. I will not go into details. Let’s just say, I had to be creative in order to collect the samples. After putting this off for about 2 weeks – (3 years if I count postponing the endoscopy) – I finally got up this morning and did it. Let’s see how I finally managed to do it.

The thinking process:
What am I supposed to do? Collect samples and take to the doctor within 2 weeks.
Why I am doing it? Because I am sick, and have been for the past couple of years. We need to get to the bottom of this and it cannot be done without this sample and a few other things.
Who can do it? Me. First, there is nobody else with my sample out there! Second, I don’t think there is anybody I would want to look at my beautiful sample!
Why am I not doing it? Because it sucks! I have never looked at my samples or at anyone else’s. I am easily grossed out.
How will I feel if I do not do it? Horrible. Like the worst slacker who is playing with his life.
How will I feel if I do it? It’s done with. I am responsible. I can do things if I put my mind to it. I will know if my fears were correct. This convinced me to go and do it.

The doing it part:
I made sure that I had everything I needed to do it right the first time. Did I feel like going to the bathroom? Yes. Did I have the equipment? Yes. Did I know how to use the equipment? Yes. Did I have enough area, time, privacy etc. to do it? Yes. This seems like more thinking, but I was doing things while thinking about this. Like clearing the sink area, putting the “bin” in a position. Figuring out how to sit/stand/whatever! Then I collected the samples. At first, I felt like just doing it quickly and get out. But I remembered reading somewhere that if I did not give them the right amount, or the bottles did not close properly, I would have to re-do the project! So I calmed down, and considered it a Science project. I was amazed at how meticulous I was with the second and third bottle/sample.

How bad was it?
It grossed me out at the beginning, but I decided to carry on with it. Once I started, there was no going back! It was not nearly as bad as I thought it would be. Actually I felt better afterwards, physically, emotionally, and intellectually. I just have to take the samples to the lab once I am done writing here!

So, How Do You Do Things That Suck?
1. Convince yourself that it is worth doing. Other people say just do it. I think I need convincing on things like that.
2. Start doing it.Once convinced, do it as soon as you can. Do not over-think. Do not wait, because that is what you were doing all along. It is time for action. Once you start, do not look back! You may find out that it is not bad being a Doctor, after all.
3. Do it to the best of your ability. Whatever you lay your hands on, make sure you do the best job you can. This goes for stuff that sucks as well. It is a testament of who you are. If I was a lab technician and somebody brought me a mess… My report would be great! You get the idea.
4. Give yourself a pat on the back for achieving a worthwhile goal. Enjoy the accomplishment.

(How is this related to Chess? I cannot think of any other game where by you are forced to do things that you don’t want to as frequently as it happens in Chess. You may be forced to sacrifice a piece to save your King, or you may be forced to abandon your favorite opening just because the other player knows it better. Whatever the case, you think about the best course of action and carry it out to the best of your ability. The feeling of winning after such a game is indescribable. After all, life is a game of Chess.)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

