He who seeketh, findeth

August 12, 2007

Don’t drive home for lunch! (Think cost of gas per mile.)

Filed under: Money,Thoughts and Reflections — Steve (Chessiq) @ 12:40 am

I cook a lot at home. Usually I spend several hours on the weekend to cook my food for the following week. I cook all different types of meats and vegetables and freeze them up. A couple of days ago, I forgot my lunch. Prior to this day, I would just drive home, 10 miles away, and eat my lunch. What sucked was just the time spent driving and how the lunch break flew by. Well, this particular day, I decided to calculate how much it would cost me to drive home and eat lunch! Well, my Chevy Malibu (1999) gets at least 300 miles from a full tank, 12 gallons of gas. Gas was around $3.00 per gallon that week. So I had paid $36.00 to drive 300 miles. That is 12 cents per mile. So driving home and back would cost me $2.40 in gas. How about the cost of the food and the cost of time? I realized that I could get a nice lunch from the vending machine for less than $2.40 and read while I ate. If you have read my other posts here, you already know what I decided to do!

Since that day, I look at the cost of getting to a place and back to see if it is worth it before driving off. For example, I no longer drive an extra 5 miles just to save 50 cents on a grocery item.

What do you think? Is this being frugal or cheap? Do you go for “savings” that actually cost you more in gas?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

